leading edge

May 2, 2023 | 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
The Hall CP
4656 Hotel Drive College Park, MD 20742


Innovate Maryland 2023 was filled with a night of networking and collaboration from UM Ventures and TEDCO's Maryland Innovation Initiative (MII).  The evening highlighted innovative research in which the University of Maryland, College Park campus community, entrepreneurs, and strategic partners gathered to celebrate accomplishments from the past two years. The program recognized the Inventions of the Year from 2021-2022.

During the program, we had welcome remarks from University of Maryland, College Park President, Darryll J. Pines, and Vice President of Research, Gregory F. Ball, as well as a special feature of TEDCO's The Leading Edge, a fireside chat series exploring new technologies in Maryland's entrepreneur ecosystem. The Leading Edge highlighted innovative technology from MII awardee, Srinivasa R. Raghavan, and speakers Arti Santhanam and Kenneth Porter.

Photos from the event

Innovate Maryland Welcome Remarks

TEDCO's The Leading Edge Speakers

  • Srinivasa R. Raghavan, PhD, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park (MII Awardee)
  • Arti Santhanam, PhD, Executive Director of Maryland Innovation Initiative, TEDCO
  • Kenneth Porter, PhD, Director of UM Ventures - College Park

Read More and Watch Now

UMD Inventions of the Year

  • Overall/Physical Sciences Invention of the Year: Eco-Friendly Composite-Based Water Harvesting System From Air. The inventors were A. James Clark School of Engineering researchers: mechanical engineering Professor Teng Li, postdoctoral researcher Bo Chen and former Ph.D. student Shuangshuang Jing.
  • Information Sciences Invention of the Year: Programmable Creation of All-Natural Plastic Substitutes. Inventors were chemical and biochemical engineering Assistant Professor Po-Yen Chen, doctoral student Tianle Chen and Liangbing Hu, Herbert Rabin Distinguished Professor in materials science and engineering.
  • Life Sciences Invention of the Year: Detection of Ovarian Cancer via the Spectral Fingerprinting of Quantum-Defect-Modified Carbon Nanotubes in Serum by Machine Learning. Inventors included YuHuang Wang, a professor of chemistry and biochemistry, Daniel Heller and Mijin Kim of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Anand Jagota of Lehigh University and Ming Zheng of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
  • Quantum Invention of the Year: Low Noise Quantum Frequency Conversion Scheme for Trapped Ion Quantum Network. Inventors were Clark School researchers Uday Saha M.S. ’21, Ph.D. ’22 and Edo Waks, a professor of electrical and computer engineering with an appointment in the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics

Related Information