Positioning Maryland to be a leading Cyber Ecosystem by identifying and addressing existing and future gaps

cyber md program


Established under CH0678 during the 2023 legislative session, the Cyber Maryland Program is designed to help address workforce vacancies in the state. Guided by an 18-member Board of Directors, each with backgrounds in information technology and cybersecurity, the program:

  • helps create and build a diverse talent pipeline in cybersecurity,
  • serves as a hub for State workforce development programs in cybersecurity, and
  • generally coordinates cybersecurity and research innovation in the State.

The overall objective of the Program is to help build and accelerate a talent pipeline that materially reduces workforce Maryland cybersecurity industry vacancies in the state.

Cyber Maryland Board


Roger Austin, Private Sector with Cybersecurity Needs

Vice Co-Chairs

Greg Rogers, Maryland Department of Information Technology
Supro Ghose, SVP Chief Information Security Officer, Eagle Bank


Kenneth Allman, Garrett Community College
Loyce Best Pailen, University of Maryland Global Campus
Thomas Byrd, T. Rowe Price
Derrek Dunn, University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Katie Fry Hester, Senate co-chair of the Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology
Allen Kachalia, Private Sector with Cybersecurity Needs 
Anne Kaiser, House of Delegates co-chair of the Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology
Troy LeMaile-Stovall, TEDCO
Kim Mentzell, Maryland Department of Commerce
Kirkland Murray, Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corporation
Laura Nelson, National Cryptologic Museum Foundation
Gregg Smith, Cybersecurity Association of Maryland, Inc.
Rachael Stephens Parker, Maryland Department of Labor
Tami Watkins, Comcast
Anthony Woods, Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs